Intangible Capital Data
Knowledge and organization capital stocks for U.S. public firms, built from Compustat with the parameter estimates of Ewens, Peters and Wang (2024), Management Science.
Download
Current release: September 24, 2026. 534,089 firm-years, 46,082 firms, fiscal years 1975 to 2026. One row per Compustat firm and fiscal year.
| Column | Definition |
|---|---|
gvkey | Compustat firm identifier |
fyear | Fiscal year |
knowCapital | Knowledge capital, net, nominal $ millions. Capitalized R&D. |
orgCapital | Organization capital, net, nominal $ millions. Capitalized share of SG&A. |
note | Blank when computed from reported data. Otherwise: total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A reported; total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A interpolated from adjacent years; total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A missing; no stock computed; or no stock: an earlier year had missing R&D or SG&A. |
Stata: import delimited "https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv", clear
Python: pd.read_csv("https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv")
R: read.csv("https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv")
Use this data with an LLM
Paste the prompt below into ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, or any model that can read a URL. It carries the data location, the column definitions, the parameters, the method, and the citation.
You are working with the Ewens, Peters and Wang intangible capital stocks for U.S. public firms. DATA: https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv One row per Compustat firm and fiscal year. 534,089 rows, 46,082 firms, fiscal years 1975-2026. Release September 24, 2026. Columns: gvkey Compustat firm identifier (integer) fyear fiscal year knowCapital knowledge capital stock, net, nominal $ millions (capitalized R&D) orgCapital organization capital stock, net, nominal $ millions (capitalized share of SG&A) note blank when computed from reported data; otherwise says that Compustat total assets were not reported (flows reported, interpolated, or missing) or that an earlier year's missing flows leave the stock missing Stocks are net (after depreciation), so year-on-year changes are net investment. Merge to Compustat on (gvkey, fyear). PARAMETERS: https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/capital_accum_parameters_2023.csv gives, by 4-digit SIC, the knowledge depreciation rate (knowDepr), organization depreciation rate (organDepr, 0.20), the share of SG&A treated as investment (gamma), and the Fama-French 5 industry. Baseline by industry (knowDepr / gamma): Consumer 0.43 / 0.20, Manufacturing 0.50 / 0.21, High-tech 0.42 / 0.37, Health 0.33 / 0.51, Other 0.35 / 0.22. METHOD: perpetual inventory. Knowledge capital: K_t = (1 - knowDepr) K_(t-1) + R&D_t. Organization capital: O_t = 0.8 O_(t-1) + gamma x SG&A_t (SG&A net of R&D). Initial stocks imputed from firm age. Details: https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/blob/master/pipeline/README.md CAVEAT: every release rebuilds all years from current Compustat, so a firm's history can change between releases (industry code revisions, restated financials). Cite the release date. Details: https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/blob/master/STOCK_CHANGES.md CITATION: Ewens, Michael, Ryan Peters and Sean Wang. "Measuring Intangible Capital with Market Prices." Management Science 71.1 (2024): 407-427. https://doi.org/10.1287/mnsc.2021.02058
What the data show
Investment moved from physical to intangible
The stocks alongside physical capital
Intangible intensity by industry
The cross-section in the latest fiscal year
Explanatory power for market value
Market-to-book with and without intangibles
Return on equity with and without intangibles
How the stocks are built
Each firm's R&D and SG&A history is capitalized with the perpetual inventory method. Knowledge capital depreciates at an industry-specific rate estimated in the paper; organization capital accumulates a share gamma of SG&A and depreciates at 20 percent a year. Initial stocks are imputed from firm age. Full method and code: pipeline README.
| Fama-French industry | Knowledge depreciation | Organization depreciation | SG&A investment share (gamma) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Consumer | 0.43 | 0.20 | 0.20 |
| Manuf. | 0.50 | 0.20 | 0.21 |
| High-tech | 0.42 | 0.20 | 0.37 |
| Health | 0.33 | 0.20 | 0.51 |
| Other | 0.35 | 0.20 | 0.22 |
The stocks are annual. Because firms' fiscal years end in different months, the file is refreshed a few times a year as new fiscal years close in Compustat. Every release rebuilds all years from current Compustat, so a firm's history can change between releases when Compustat revises its industry code or restates financials. Read how much and why. To be notified of releases, watch the GitHub repository (Watch, Custom, Releases).
Documentation
Intangible capital: depreciation rates and stocks
This repository contains the parameter estimates for intangible capital accumulation and the estimated knowledge and organization capital stocks from Ewens, Peters and Wang (2024), "Measuring Intangible Capital with Market Prices." It also contains the code that builds the stocks from Compustat, so the stocks can be refreshed as Compustat updates.
Update history
- April 2019: updated the goodwill adjustment and fixed a bug in the estimation code. The parameter estimates changed.
- October 2023: fixed a small data error in the estimation sample. Small changes to the parameter estimates and stocks; no meaningful change to the relative performance of the paper's intangible stocks.
- September 2026: the stocks are now rebuilt from current Compustat with the October 2023 parameter estimates (unchanged) and refreshed as new fiscal years close in Compustat (a few times a year, since fiscal year-ends differ across firms). The construction code is in
pipeline/. Coverage extends from fiscal 1975 through the latest reported fiscal year.
Primer on capitalizing intangibles: the perpetual inventory model
See Sections 2 and 4 of Ewens, Peters and Wang (2024). Parameters of interest:
: the depreciation rate of knowledge capital investment (i.e. R&D)
: the depreciation rate of organization capital investment (i.e. SG&A)
: the percent of SG&A spending that is treated as investment in organizational capital.
Each of these parameters is estimated for the five Fama-French industries.
Parameter estimates
The depreciation and investment parameters (csv) can be merged onto any dataset of firm-time R&D and SG&A flows using SIC codes. The variables are
sic: SIC codeknowDepr: the estimate for the knowledge capital depreciationorganDepr: the estimate for the organizational capital depreciationgamma: the estimate for the percentage of SG&A spending that is considered investment in organizational capitalindustry5: the major Fama-French industry the SIC belongs to. Ewens, Peters and Wang putsic >= 8000 & sic <= 8099inindustry5 == 1and move some "high-tech" TV/radio providers into consumer (classification scheme).
Estimates (Oct. 2023) with bootstrapped standard errors:

Stocks for Compustat firms
Current release: intangibleCapital_20260924.csv. One row per Compustat firm and fiscal year, 534,089 firm-years, 46,082 firms, fiscal years 1975 to 2026, built from Compustat as of June 30, 2026. Columns:
gvkey: the Compustat unique identifierfyear: the fiscal yearorgCapital: organization capital (net) using SG&AknowCapital: knowledge capital (net) using R&Dnote: blank when the stocks are computed from reported data. Otherwise one of:total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A reported(Compustat has no total assets for the firm-year but the flows are reported and used as they are);total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A interpolated from adjacent years;total assets not reported; R&D and SG&A missing; no stock computed(missing flows are set to zero only when total assets are reported, so nothing can be filled here);no stock: an earlier year had missing R&D or SG&A(a gap earlier in the firm's history leaves every later stock missing).
All dollars are nominal, in Compustat units (millions). The stocks are net assets, not gross, so a year-on-year change is net investment. Every Compustat firm-year is kept; a missing stock is explained in note rather than dropped.
To load in Stata:
import delimited "https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv", clear
In Python:
pd.read_csv("https://github.com/michaelewens/Intangible-capital-stocks/raw/master/intangibleCapital_20260924.csv")
The previous release, intangibleCapital_090123.dta (fiscal 1975 to 2019, September 2023), is kept for replication of work that used it.
Historical stocks change between releases
Updates to Compustat (restated financials, revised header industry codes, added or re-dated firm-years), to the deflator, and to the founding-year data can change a firm's historical stocks, because each stock is built from the firm's whole history. Read STOCK_CHANGES.md for the size of the changes between the 2023 and 2026 releases, what drives them, and ten worked examples.
How the stocks are built
The industry-level parameter estimates are applied to each firm's full history of R&D and SG&A in Compustat with the perpetual inventory method. The initial stock at a firm's first Compustat year is imputed from its age (Ritter founding year where available) and the average growth of R&D and SG&A around the IPO. Missing R&D is set to zero from 1977 when assets are reported; missing SG&A is set to zero when assets are reported; remaining gaps are interpolated. Flows are deflated with the CPI for the accumulation and the stocks are converted back to nominal dollars. pipeline/README.md documents every step in order.
Code to construct stocks
pipeline/ holds a Python implementation of the construction, verified against the authors' Stata code on identical inputs (507,638 firm-years, correlation 1.000000). It requires WRDS access for Compustat and the CRSP/Compustat link. See pipeline/README.md for the run steps.
Dijun Liu's earlier Python script reproduces the 2019 stocks with correlations above .99.
Updates
The stocks are annual. New releases are posted a few times a year as fiscal years close in Compustat. To be notified, use GitHub's Watch → Custom → Releases on this repository.
Citation
@article{ewensPetersWang2024,
title={Measuring Intangible Capital with Market Prices},
author={Ewens, Michael and Peters, Ryan and Wang, Sean},
journal={Management Science},
volume={71},
number={1},
pages={407--427},
year={2024},
doi={10.1287/mnsc.2021.02058}
}
Ewens, Michael, Ryan Peters and Sean Wang. "Measuring Intangible Capital with Market Prices." Management Science 71.1 (2024): 407-427.
Citation
Ewens, Michael, Ryan Peters and Sean Wang. "Measuring Intangible Capital with Market Prices." Management Science 71.1 (2024): 407-427. doi:10.1287/mnsc.2021.02058